Touching people…or being touched

I had a wonderful chat with two ladies from India at breakfast this morning…

Kusum & Nandini…we spoke about journeys & I shared some of my previous experience with them…

They are thinking of doing some of my Italian trip in future…

I would be very happy about it as I had done a lot of research…

I went to say good bye to Ortigia, then…

Walked to the train station & waited…

Met an English couple that have had a mini break in Ortigia…chatted to them on the train back…

Strange encounter with a Scotsman… I realise that he was so full of his own experience that he had to share or burst…

He had gone to a place where his father had fought in World War II…but he was talking so softly, I only heard partially…but he needed an ear…

He was overwhelmed by the friendliness of the Sicilians….especially with how they handled his request…

Then Don & his wife, as well as the English couple, got off the train in Catania…their places filled with talking Sicilians & at the next stop school children…

There was a misunderstanding between my hostess & myself when I booked in Savoca, she offered me a place by the sea…

But, I also think because she is going through a difficult time with both her brother & husband being ill…I was almost in tears with the helplessness I felt, how I could not express my concern & sympathy…

But we reached a compromise & I get two days in Savoca (heavenly place) & will spend the third day by the sea…

I love Savoca!!

I will then be close to the station & my next trip to Stromboli…

It was a good day!

Leave a Reply

