The life…

It was a very hot day!

I decided last week already that this planned stay, was going to be a quiet time of contemplation & recovery…when I get back to the office next week, I will need a lot of energy…

Energy that I might have expended already or have not yet recuperated…so, today was it…

I started by climbing another hill & following two French tourists up the mountain to a sanctuary…(Photo: stairs up to the mountain top)

It was a quiet day for me…

This does not mean there was not a lot of noise, buses full of tourists arrived as Taormina was closed, not only to me…

There were to crowing cocks on opposite sides of the mountain, the crows echoing…a crowing competition…dogs barking, a hound child singing jingle bells in Italian incessantly…

I spoke to the owner of the shop on the piazza this morning…if I have worked out all my stories, he is married to an Irish woman, from Northern Ireland…his & his children’s English quite decent…

I spoke to Maria…who left America 40 years ago to settle in Savoca with her Sicilian husband…years that were not easy or how she could have imagined it…isolated until about 10-15 years ago…

But I spent the day relaxing…soaking in the Italian dolce vita & time on my balcony (Photo: balcony where I spent my day…black chair toward the left)…just being…

It was a beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

