Arriverderci Sicilia

It was my last day…

In spite of not sleeping much (the piazza & everybody else seemed to party until very much after 4 am & quite a few ambulances were needed according to the noise), I was awake soon after 5:30… I lay talking to God & tied to sleep again, but to no avail…

I first packed my suitcase in my head, then repacked I physically…

I threw away my sandals…after two trips walking very long hours through Italy, they were finished & had started to give me blisters…

It made extra space in my suitcase…

After a bland breakfast, I went to explore Catania…

O my, I found another theatre…a Roman one built on top of some Greek structure…I was able to wander through the arches & read the lyrical English that Italians are famous for…inspiring me to see the structure & how the middle ages & beyond “restructurrd ” it & incorporated it into houses…

What made this theatre higher on my list of excellent things…the bottom is submerged under water from a natural source nearby…

Two of my favourite things in one…arches & water…& a third, ancient theatricals…the only thing missing? Doric columns…

Some portions of which I found in the museum…not Doric (wrong century), but columns!

Every palazzo afterwards , the beautiful gardens, paled into comparison…

The heat in Catania got to me after a while & I left earlier for the airport than initially intended….

I will not bore you with the mundane details of my journeys…long periods of waiting interspersed with longer periods captivated in the confined space secured by a (I always thought) quite useless seatbelt…

But, the one thing that blew me away…we flew over the sea from Catania to Roma…& I had the opportunity to see my beloved Stromboli from above…the crater puffing smoke…(Photo through the dirty plane window)

It was definitely the highlight of my trip!

& so I left Sicily, a place of warmheartedness, beauty & a place that draws you & captivates you inexorably…

I will have to come back…

Leave a Reply

