No rest…for the traveller

I had second-guessed myself on when to leave Stromboli & move to Catania…but alas in the end, the wrong decision…

Three very long, nauseating & diesel-fumed hours on the ferry in a cramped seat…visiting, but only seeing slices of Panarea, Lipari, Salina & finally Vulcano…

By the time I reached Milazzo, I thought I was not going to make it…

But drama aside, I waited for the 15:30 bus to Messina…

All went well & we arrived shortly after 16:00…

I went to check how delayed the trains were, but saw that one of the trains to Catania was cancelled…I did not want to book a ticket & then find out it gets cancelled again…so, I paid slightly more to walk further once I arrived in Catania…but the safest decision…

Catania was finally reached at 18:20…

Then I walked to & past the hostel several times before I finally found it…up two long flights of stairs…

After a bathroom break & a change of shoes, I set off to explore Catania….

Lively music pouring from places & stalls, piazzas filled with tourists, the foreign & Italian kind…

Foreigners gaping & photo taking, pointing, Italians with designer shopping bags draped casually over their arms or clutched in multiples in their hands en famiglia…

Everybody talking & laughing…

For the first times in my life, I was solicited, first by one & then by several other ladies…

For supper at their restaurant, just up here (in here, down this via)…

The fifth or sixth one caught me…but by this time I was hungry enough & followed her to a little place where I enjoyed supper…

I walked back wearily, enjoying, but tiredly through the lit streets & up the stairs…

However, someone is playing drums & cymbals in front of the square…on which my room faces…

Sleep is not going to happen soon…

Leave a comment